Last burger of the summer?


Happy Tuesday everyone!

Our summer vacation has officially ended and today J started law school and I started my new job.  For the next few months I’ll be working from home which I think will be a nice treat.  We’ve set up a little home office for me and I am really looking forward to spending my days at home and being able to take advantage of the flexibility that comes along with that.  I know that I’ll miss the people interaction but hopefully the convenience of the arrangement will outweigh that.

Remember when I told you about those pomegranate molasses I bought at the Middle East grocer and how I promised greatness? Well, I’ve concocted this recipe for pomegranate-feta burgers that I think you might like.  Hopefully you will have some time to squeeze in a few more bbq dinners before the fall officially hits.

Pomegranate-Feta Burgers

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 pounds lean ground beef
  • 1/2 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 cup  crumbled feta cheese (ideally Macedonian feta)
  • 6 tablespoons pomegranate molasses
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 egg
  • 1 envelope dry onion soup mix
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed dried rosemary
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat a grill for high heat.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the ground beef, onion, cheese, soy sauce, pomegranate molasses, egg, onion soup mix, garlic, garlic powder, parsley, basil, oregano, rosemary, salt, and pepper.
  3. Form into patties.
  4. Grill patties for 5 minutes per side on the hot grill, or until well done.
Posted on September 6, 2011, in Culture, Food for eating, Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

