Lemon, Sumac & Turmeric Roasted Cauliflower


I really like cauliflower but until a few days ago I couldn’t really say that I had a ‘go-to’ cauliflower recipe.  I sometimes throw it into salads and last year I made a really good Thai red curry chicken soup with it, but other than that, nothing special sticks out in my mind.

I recently came across this recipe and wanted to try it right away.  Having run out of cumin a few days earlier, I decided to experiment with turmeric.  I was pleasantly surprised with how well the lemon, turmeric and sumac flavours blended together. The result a deliciously tart yet warm roasted cauliflower dish.  I think you will enjoy.  Here is the recipe, which is a slightly modified version of the one I mentioned above, replacing only the cumin with turmeric.  Enjoy!

Lemon, sumac & turmeric roasted cauliflower
I large head of cauliflower, broken into florets
1/3 c olive oil
1 large lemon, zested & juiced
1 T ground cumin
1 T ground sumac
1 t garlic powder
1 large pinch kosher salt
good grind fresh black pepper
additional lemon, quartered (optional)

Preheat oven to 425F.

In a large bowl, combine the cauliflower, olive oil, lemon juice and zest, cumin, sumac and garlic powder. Toss with your hands or a wooden spoon so that everything gets evenly combined. Dump onto a cookie sheet prepped with a silpat mat or parchment paper and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake for 30 minutes, flipping cauliflower over at the 15 minute mark. When everything is golden brown and crispy, remove from oven. Serve with additional lemon quarters for that added lemony bite.

Posted on November 13, 2011, in Food for eating and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Je vais essayer ça! Merci!

  2. wow, looks deeeeeeelcious! SO trying this!! and turmeric is super good for you!! I was trying to think of ways of implementing into my diet more! thanksss!!

  3. No problem! Let me know when you try it out!

Leave a Reply

